Maggie Carter

Name: Maggie Carter

Age: 17


Where do you live and with who?

I live in Berkey Ohio with my parents Tom and Julie Carter


How did you get involved with horses?

I grew up with horses but I didn't have much interest in showing until I heard about 4-H from a friend of mine.


What disciplines/classes do you show in and why did you choose that discipline or class(es)?

I show in the All-Around events. I like the challenge of perfecting the relationship with my horse.


What would be impossible for you to give up? (something that’s non horse related) Friends and Family


Tell us something nobody knows about you I was born with Dandy Walker Syndrome.


Where can we find you when you aren’t at a horse show?

You can find me in various locations around Northwest Ohio doing community service.


What do you see your future self doing?

I see my self working in veterinary pharmaceutical sales and traveling the nation continuing to show horses.


If you could ride any horse, who would it be and why?

Secretariat, just for the thrill.


What is a goal that you want to accomplish during your time showing horses?

I want to place in the top 3 at the youth world.


Who is your hero/role model?

My grandparents.


What is the biggest dream you have accomplished showing horses?

I won congress champion at the 2016 quarter horse congress.


What is an accomplishment you have achieved outside the show arena?

I was elected president for my schools FFA chapter.


OQHYA Media Committee - Interviewed by Alexia Tordoff