Kylee Wiseman

Where do you live and with who?

 I live in Beaver, Ohio with my mom, Stephanie, and my dad, Randy. 


How did you get involved in horses?

I got involved with horses when I was very young. My grandparents, Dennis and Debbie Martin had some horses when I was a baby, and I fell in love. They bought me my first show horse, Alan when I was 5. We went to local shows and I showed in the walk trot classes. My first time, I came out of the ring with a blue ribbon. I have been hooked ever since. 


What discipline(s)/class(es) do you show in and why did you choose that discipline or class(es)?

I show in Western Pleasure and recently started Reining. I show western pleasure because I absolutely love it. You get to work with your horse to make their feet match the perfect beat that you want them to. It is stressful and you get a nervous sensation when you are in the ring, and you just have to make your horse look the best to their ability. I can't wait to show reining because I feel like it is like the complete opposite of pleasure. You are the only one out there. To win, you don't need someone's opinion. You just have to be spot on to get the perfect score. You have to go fast, which is awesome. 


What would be impossible for you to give up? (something that's not horse related) 

Someone that would be impossible for me to give up would be music. I couldn't live without music. Music is a huge part of my life because it gets me through the good and the bad days. I listen to music when I'm riding and when I'm not. 


Tell us something that no one knows about you.

Something that nobody knows about me is I have a bad obsession with chocolate ice cream. 


Where can we find you when you aren't at a horse show.

When I'm not at a horse show, you can find me at a friends house, riding my farm horses, or at the mall. 


What do you see your future self doing?

I can see my future self going to college at Ohio State, and doing something in the medical field. 


If you could ride any horse, who would it be and why?

If I could ride any horse, it would have to be In Like Flinn, he is a dream horse. I love watching the reining since I'm just starting it, I kinda have a feel for it. I watch Casey Deary all the time online. Another horse I would love to ride would be either Gone Viral, or RL Best of Sudden. 


What is a goal that you want to accomplish during your time showing horses?

One goal that I would love to accomplish from showing horses is to win a GOLDEN globe. I want to take that victory lap and be the last one standing. 


 Who is your hero/role model?

My role model is Deanna Green. She always has a great attitude and she sets her mind to what she wants and then she makes it happen. 


What is the biggest dream you have accomplished showing horses?

One dream I have accomplished is becoming a Reserve World Champion at the 2017 AQHYA Youth World in the Western Pleasure. 


An accomplishment you have achieved outside the show arena.

One accomplishment I have achieved outside the show arena is being Grand and Reserve Champion with my market goats.


OQHYA Media Committee - Interviewed by Halie Harner