Jessica Batton


Name:  Jessica Batton

Age: 15

Grade: Sophomore


Where do you live and with who?

My dad, John, and Mom, Kristen, in Sydney, OH


How did you get involved in horses?

Since as long as I can remember my parents have had and shown reining horses. Growing up, I rode them as well and have absolutely loved it.


What discipline(s)/class(es) do you show in and why did you choose that discipline or class(es)?

I primarily show in the reining classes. I enjoy reining because it is thrilling, competitive, and challenging.


What would be impossible for you to give up? (something that's not horse related)



Tell us something that no one knows about you.

Very few people in my life know that I used to do ballet and love to pop bubble wrap.


Where can we find you when you aren't at a horse show?

School functions…..I’m class president and a FFA officer.  I also play basketball.


What do you see your future self doing?

I imagine myself riding horses as a hobby, but I’m still undecided in my future career.


If you could ride any horse, who would it be and why?

If I could ride any horse it would most likely be Wimpys Little Step. I would love to ride him because aside from having a lifetime earnings of $185,757 he is also a 7 million dollar producer that generates talented offspring. To ride a horse who has accomplished so much in the reigning industry would be a once in a lifetime opportunity.


What is a goal that you want to accomplish during your time showing horses?

I have hopes of winning the reining class at the Youth World show. In the more distant future I want to compete in either the NRHA Non Pro Derby or Futurity.


Who is your hero/role model?

My mom, she does everything to her full ability with a positive outlook.


What is the biggest dream you have accomplished showing horses?

Winning the Congress last year in Novice Youth Reining


An accomplishment you have achieved outside the show arena.

I maintain a 4.0 GPA.


OQHYA Media Committee - Interviewed by Caleb Sturgeon