Halie Harner

Name: Halie Harner


Age: 17


Where do you live and with who?

I live in Wilmington, Ohio. I live with my dad, mom, and sister.


How did you get involved in horses?

My grandparents have always been in the breeding business of horses, so I have grown up with horses my whole life. I fell in love with horses and got my first show horse when I was 9. I first showed in 4-h then I got more involved by coming to the AQHA horse shows.


What discipline(s)/class(es) do you show in and why did you choose that discipline or class(es)?

The only event I show in is western pleasure. I chose this event because I love the way these types of horse move in the show ring. I also enjoy the fancy clothes that we get to wear.


What would be impossible for you to give up? (something that's not horse related)

Something that would be impossible to give up is my faith in God.


Tell us something that no one knows about you.

I am a varsity cheerleader for my school and also play the piano.


Where can we find you when you aren't at a horse show?

Somewhere you could find me is my church, my school, or at a swimming pool


What do you see your future self doing?

I can see my future self being a nurse in a hospital helping surgical patients.


If you could ride any horse, who would it be and why?

I would want to ride the horse Battman. I would want to ride this horse because he is a great stallion and makes great baby's.


What is a goal that you want to accomplish during your time showing horses?

One goal that I have always wanted to accomplish while I'm still showing is to win the congress.


Who is your hero/role model?

My hero would be my mom. She always inspires me to be a better person everyday. She pushes me to do my best. She comes to most of my shows to support me.


What is the biggest dream you have accomplished showing horses?

My biggest dream that I accomplished was I was bronze champion at the novice youth world show. I also was top 5 in the 2016 congress.


An accomplishment you have achieved outside the show arena.

A big accomplishment would have to be I get really good grades in school and am on the honor roll.


OQHYA Media Committee - Interviewed by Gavin Patterson