Gavin Patterson


Age: 18

Where do you live and with who?

I live in Frankfurt, Ohio, with my mom and dad, Samantha and Kevin Patterson.


How did you get involved in horses?

My cousin used to work at a racehorse barn, so I would go with her and help brush the horses. One day, she finally put me on one and have always ridden since.


What discipline(s)/class(es) do you show in and why did you choose that discipline or class(es)?

I show in Western Pleasure. I chose to show in it because I am a perfectionist, and the pleasure is all about controlling the horse’s movement, along with perfecting the horse, not yourself.


What would be impossible for you to give up? (something that's not horse related)

Whenever I am not riding or showing horses, I am ay volleyball games and practices. I absolutely love it and would not be able to give it up.


Tell us something that no one knows about you.

While at a horse show in Virginia recently, I discovered that I am really good at catching food in my mouth. When I was riding, my friends were throwing marshmallows at me and I was able them in my mouth.


Where can we find you when you aren't at a horse show?

When I’m not showing, I am either hanging out with my friends, playing volleyball, or spending time at Ohio University.


What do you see your future self doing?

I plan to attend Ohio University and want to major in high school education because I want to be a teacher. When I am older, I plan on moving to Texas.


If you could ride any horse, who would it be and why?

There are two horses I would love to ride. The first would definitely be RL Best of Sudden, mostly because he has sired so many world and congress champions.  Also, he is the sire of one of my horses, so it would be cool to see what he is like in comparison.  The second horse I would love to ride is In Like Flinn, who is a reiner.  He won worlds in both the junior and senior, and I have always wanted to try reining.


What is a goal that you want to accomplish during your time showing horses?

My biggest goal is to win both the world show and the congress. It has always been a huge dream of mine and I hope to achieve it.


Who is your hero/role model?

I would have to say my role model is my trainer, Ty Hornick. Just like everyone else, I look up to Ty as my trainer, and I always aspire to be like him, along with Karen Hornick as well.


What is the biggest dream you have accomplished showing horses?

This past year I placed top 10 at the youth world. It is something I have always wanted and I am so happy it came true.


An accomplishment you have achieved outside the show arena.

I received the All-League award when I played soccer for my school.


OQHYA Media Committee - Interviewed by Emily Ambrose