Cassie Priest

Name: Cassie Priest
Age: 15

Where do you live and with who?
I live in Van Wert, Ohio with my mom, dad, brother, and two older sisters. 

How did you get involved in horses?
I was born and raised around them. My mom taught me how to ride and my older siblings rode. 

What discipline(s)/class(es) do you show in and why did you choose that discipline or class(es)?
I show in pole bending, barrels, and the stakes race. I chose these classes because my older brother used to show in them and it always seemed fun. I enjoy running because there's no other feeling like it and it's just me, my horse, and the timer.

What would be impossible for you to give up? (something that's not horse related)
I would not be able to give up Hulu or Netflix.

Tell us something that no one knows about you.
I have 3 kidneys.

Where can we find you when you aren't at a horse show?
When I am not at a horse show I am usually at one of my sporting events or I am hanging out with my friends.

What do you see your future self doing?
I would like to become a marine biologist.
If you could ride any horse, who would it be and why?
If I could ride any horse it would be my horse Dees Boogie Man. I would ride him because the second you get on him you can just feel the energy that he has which gets me excited. He is also the smoothest horse I have ever rode through the weave part of the pole bending pattern.

What is a goal that you want to accomplish during your time showing horses?
One goal that I would like to accomplish during my time showing is that I would like to place top three at the youth world show.

Who is your hero/role model?
My hero is my mom. She has made it possible for me to always have a horse to show. My mom taught me how to ride and is extremely helpful with taking care of my horses when sport season comes around.
What is the biggest dream you have accomplished showing horses?
My biggest accomplishment while showing horses is placing top ten at the All American Quarter Horse Congress in the pole bending class.

An accomplishment you have achieved outside the show arena.
I represented the horse program at my fair last year by being the equine princess.
OQHYA Media Committee - Interviewed by Natalie Hilty