Austin Iatonna

Name: Austin Iatonna

Age: 14

Where do you live and with who?
I live in Sunbury with my dad, Jeff and my mom, Kim.

How did you get involved in horses?
I got involved with horses one summer when I was six years old because I was bored and wanted to try something new and fell in love instantly.

What discipline(s)/class(es) do you show in and why did you choose that discipline or class(es)?
I show in Horsemanship and Trail right now but I also showed in the Western Pleasure with my old horse. I love the pattern classes because you always have something to think about and the western pleasure is nice because you have a rubric on how your horse is supposed to look.

What would be impossible for you to give up? (something that's not horse related)
Something impossible for me to give up would be baseball. I work very hard at it day in and out.

Tell us something that no one knows about you.
I love to sing even though I don't do it in front of people. I used to be in a select choir.

Where can we find you when you aren't at a horse show?
You can either find me playing Xbox or at the baseball field.

What do you see your future self doing?
I see myself playing baseball a ton probably not in the MLB. I have also thought about being a lawyer or game designer/tester for a game company.  If I don't have a family, I might go into the army too.

If you could ride any horse, who would it be and why?
I would like to ride my old horse, Sleepy N I Know It because we just recently sold him and I didn't know that was coming. He was by far my favorite horse and to get another ride on him would mean the world to me.

What is a goal that you want to accomplish during your time showing horses?
Most people would want to win the world or congress but I want to get to the point where my trainer, Chad can trust me to work and ride other horses. I want to get to the point where he thinks I'm competent enough.

Who is your hero/role model?
My hero/role model would definitely be either my dad or my uncle. My dad because he has always pushed and driven me to become a better athlete at the sports I’m playing plus he loves me unconditionally. My uncle because he has done a lot of service for our country.

What is the biggest dream you have accomplished showing horses?
My biggest dream I have accomplished is placing top 5 at Congress in the horsemanship with my old horse, Winston.

An accomplishment you have achieved outside the show arena.
An accomplishment that I have achieved outside of the horses is that I have started on both the freshman football team and the freshman baseball team.


Interviewed by Caleb Sturgeon