Posted: February 4th, 2024

Thank you to the OQHA Family for an unforgettable 2024 Banquet!

Held at the Hilton Downtown Columbus on Saturday, February 3, the OQHA Annual Meetings and Awards Banquet was the most well-attended in association history.

The Ohio Quarter Horse Association Board of Directors started the day with their annual meeting to review 2023 and plan for the new year, as well as install the newly elected and appointed directors. The AQHA Most Valuable Professional award was presented to Art O'Brien, voted on by his OQHA peers. The Ohio Amateur Quarter Horse Association and the Ohio Quarter Horse Youth Association also met and discussed their year, as well as installed their new directors and officers.

Following the conclusion of the annual meetings, the Ohio affiliates hosted a social hour for attendees to mix, mingle, and pick up their year-end prizes from Eastern Ohio Quarter Horse Association, Northern Ohio Quarter Horse Association, and Southern Ohio Quarter Horse Association.

The awards banquet kicked off at 6pm with a plated dinner, before moving into the evening program. Hosted by co-emcees Jessica Blevins, 2023 All American Quarter Horse Congress Queen, and 2023 Ohio Quarter Horse Association Queen Ashton Snow, the program heard remarks from OQHA President George Seanor, OAQHA President Heather Duer, OQHYA President Bella D'Onofrio, and OQHYA Vice President Colton Smith. President George Seanor also awarded the annual President's Award to Connie Vansickle, Pat Seanor, and Tom Orosz.

The association held a special recognition of Dr. Scott Myers, for his service to OQHA over the last 24 years. 

Over $15,000 was raised for the Ohio Quarter Horse Foundation through the auctioning of two Recon electric bikes, donated by Tom Coughlin and  Special thank you to Shawn and Lisa Runyon as well as Travis and Nicole Heron for generously purchasing the bikes in support of the foundation. 

OQHA crowned Sidney Hawk as the 2024 Queen. Sidney will represent OQHA at affiliate shows, the AQHYA World Show, the 2024 Congress Queen Contest, and various other equine events.

The night ended with an awards presentation that saw well over $100,000 given to 2023 year-end winners, highlighted by 11 custom Miguel Aguilar saddles. 

Thank you to everyone who made the evening a spectacular event, we look forward to following your achievements throughout 2024.

To view the list of 2024 Officers and Directors, please choose from the following

Ohio Quarter Horse Association Board of Directors

Ohio Amateur Quarter Horse Association Board of Directors

Ohio Quarter Horse Youth Association Board of Directors