Millie Landon

Posted: December 11th, 2018

Name: Millie Landon

Age: 16

Where do you live and with who?
I just moved to Pilot Point, Texas where I live with my mom, Tara, and my stepdad, Doug.

How did you get involved in horses?
My mother used to train horses, so I have grown up in AQHA since I was born.

What discipline(s)/class(es) do you show in and why did you choose that discipline or class(es)?
I show in the horsemanship, western pleasure, showmanship, and halter.  I have shown horses that had done the pleasure and had been started in horsemanship and showing those classes makes me feel confident walking into the show pen.

What would be possible for you to give up? (something that is not horse related)
Something that I could never give up is my family because they are always so supportive of me inside and outside of the show pen and they always help me to achieve my goals.

Tell us something that no one knows about you.
A fact that no one knows about me is that I am obsessed with Christmas all year round.

Where can we find you when you aren’t at a horse show?
When not at a show, I am either working on school work or I am in the barn.

What do you see your future self doing?
I see my future self going into agriculture or becoming a compounding pharmacist.

If you could ride any horse, who would it be and why?
I have always wanted to ride Whatscookingoodlookin because we have always been friends with the people at Capital Quarter Horses and ever since the first time I saw her on the live feed at the youth world I have always wanted to ride her.

What is a goal that you want to accomplish during your time showing horses?
My main goal would be to win the horsemanship at the youth world before the end of my youth career.

Who is your hero/role model?
My mom is my hero. She has always been such an influential person in my life ever since I was little. She is so strong and people always respect her.

What is the biggest dream you have accomplished showing horses?
My biggest dream I have accomplished was getting reserve at the youth world because it was such an amazing experience. It was also very cool to see afterwards that I had tied for fist with one of my best friends.

What accomplishment have you achieved outside of the show arena?
I have been on the honor roll at my school for the past four years. This is a big accomplishment for me because school is very important to me.

Interviewed by Alexa Black