#BestBuckeyeEver Kicks Off With Big Numbers

Posted: July 19th, 2018

The Little Buckeye launched the #BestBuckeyeEver this past weekend July 13-15, at the World Equestrian Center in Wilmington, Ohio. Named an AQHA Top 10 Show in 2017, the Buckeye brings the Ohio Amateur Quarter Horse Association large class numbers.

  • Amateur Horsemanship- 25
  • L2 Senior Trail- 27
  • L1 Youth Horsemanship- 30
  • 14-18 Equitation- 31
  • L1 Youth Showmanship- 33
  • L1 Trail- 39
  • 14-18 Horsemanship- 40

Wednesday, July 18, marked first day of The Buckeye Classic which runs through July 22. 

The OAQHA added new this year the NCEA Jr. Medal Horsemanship Class and YEDA Challenge. Unless signed or currently participating on a NCEA team, all youth were eligible to participate in the Horsemanship Challenge; a class where riders run individual patterns with a scholarship awaiting the victor. The $40 entry fee included class entry, NCEA Jr. membership and a special clinic that Monday by Brent Tincher explaining the Horsemanship pattern to competitors. Riders competed on their own horses or drew from YEDA-provided horses.

In all, 32 riders competed in the inaugural challenge: Jessica Copeland, Hannah Copley, Kaitlin Dierks, Matthew Siefker, Peyton Derr, Ellexxah Maxwell, Alexa Black, Rose Dean, Macee Roberts, Alexis Cook, Teryn Ferrell, Lauren Bishop, Aria Morgan, Brianna Merklin, Christen Robers, Isabella Himes, Clara Nemeth, Marley Mainwaring, Kylee Simpson, Abby Query, Kyra Butts, Rita Rouch, Madison Burlett, Abby Wirick, Millie Landon, Mason Dorsey, Bailey Van Driest, Caroline McEntee, Kendall McClintock, Paige Benson, Dane Creps, and Cora Wyers.

The top eight riders competed in head-to-head elimination brackets. When the dusts settled, scholarships were awarded to the overall winner and the rookie winner. The Open Division Champion was Brianna Merklin winning $800. Reserve was Cora Wyers winning $300. In the Rookie Division, Abby Wirick won $800 and Matthew Siefker was Reserve winning $300.

NSBA classes at The Buckeye Classic began yesterday, and there are a number of champions to congratulate. Ashley Lakins rode RR Magical Moonlite to win $291 for Dennis and Debbie Martin in Maturity Open Western Pleasure. Mandy Gately rode Keeping it Good to win $256.77 for Suzanne Mayo in Maturity Limited Open Western Pleasure. Sunni Duke and Shesa Hot Selection were the winner of $401.87 in the Maturity Non Pro Hunter Under Saddle. This team also won the Limited division of the class and an additional $267.92.

Brian Baker and No Doubting Me won $305.14 for Sue Sancken in 3-Year-Old Open Western Pleasure. Lauren Louw rode Best Az Yet to win $508.57 for Annette Snowden in the limited division of the class. Kylee Wiseman and RR Magical Moonlite won $323.76 in Maturity Non Pro Western Pleasure. This team also won the limited division of the class and an additional $215.84.

Nicole Giumenti rode Maybe The One to win $332.82 to win the 3-Year-Old Open Hunter Under Saddle. This team also won the limited division and $221.88. Dawn Baker rode Mito Been me to win $415.84 in Maturity Open Hunter Under Saddle. Jamie English and Shesa Hot Selection won $277.22 in the limited division of the class.

Brian Baker and Truth And Alibi won $646.53 in 2-Year-Old Open Western Pleasure. Ryan Strunk and One Hott Man won $431.02 in the limited division of the class. Jennifer Paul and My Only Good Shoes won $485.02 and Green Trail.

See below for show results.

Buckeye NSBA Classes

Little Buckeye Results

All photos courtesy of Buckeye Classic participants via #BestBuckeyeEver