2017 Year End Annual Banquet Recap

Posted: February 5th, 2018

More than 400 members of Ohio Quarter Horse Association members gathered at the Hilton Hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio Saturday to celebrate the achievements of hundreds of outstanding horsemen and horsewomen. 

AQHA Show Manager Justin Billings and 2017 All American Quarter Horse Congress Queen Sara Laughlin wowed guests with their thoughtful sentiments throughout the dinner and awards where 2018 officers and directors were announced for the OQHA Open Board, Amateur and Youth associations. 


OQHA President Chris Cecil Darnell presented George Seanor and Cindy Moorehead with the President's award for their hardwork and dedication to OQHA and the Congress while OQHYA President Olivia Tordoff presented the Youth Sportsmanship award to Emma Brown. 

More than $70,000 in awards including saddles, champion cups and much more were awarded to members of all agesthroughout the evening.

Kelsey Dorka, the 2017 OQHA Queen, joined 2017 Congress Queen Sara Laughlin in crowning Grace Tachikawa as the 2018 Ohio Queen. 

 OQHA looks forward to an outstanding 2018 show season and sends good wishes to all competing throughout the year!