2016 Awards Banquet In the Books

Posted: February 7th, 2017

The 2016 Ohio Quarter Horse Awards Banquet held on Saturday, February 4, 2017 at the Crowne Plaza North was a bigger than ever!  The banquet room was packed with 420 in attendance and large awards presented to the 2016 OQHA award winners. OAQHA Vice President and co-host for the night, Fred Borer, kicked off the night by inviting the 2016 OQHA Queen, Molli Jacobs, to lead the attendees in an invocation before dinner.

The 2016 OQHA President, Hank Clason followed the three course meal by reflecting on his year in office and presenting the OQHA staff with the President’s Award, including Lisa Martin, Rhonda Harter, Mindy Westlake, Barb Benedum, Danielle Stephenson, and Dr. Scott Myers.

The 2016 OQHYA President, Anneleise Ritzi gave a message on the OQHYA accomplishments and presented Olivia Tordoff with the 2016 OQHYA Sportsmanship Award.

2016 OAQHA President, Justin Billings spoke on the OAQHA’s many accomplishments in the past year and presented Fred Borer with a President’s Award.

Kelli Diaz, Board of Director for Ohio Quarter Horse Foundation, recapped the great year the Foundation had in 2016.

The 2016 All American Quarter Horse Congress Queen, Amy Brown made a special appearance to stand alongside the 2016 OQHA Queen, Molli Jacobs to crown the 2017 OQHA Queen, Kelsey Dorka.

Amy Brown also joined Fred Borer on stage to present the 2016 year-end awards to more than 225 OQHA exhibitors/members.  Jerry and Penny Robinson were presented with an engraved halter for their outstanding stallion, PF PREMO, who has retired from the show pen to stand in Bellefountaine, Ohio after completing his show career with 5 Congress Grand Championships, and 8 World Champion titles. To see the complete list of year-end winners, including the All Around winners, please visit (http://oqha.com/points).

The 2017 Board of Directors for OQHA, OAQHA and OQHYA can be found by visiting, (OQHA), (OAQHA), and (OQHYA).